One to many

Visiting family is usually trying for me.  But this trip I’m on is only about hanging out with the nephews for a bit. It is a trip where the only goal is to be an auntie.

I wasn’t sure how I’d feel – this is my first time playing auntie since I decided to move on and stop trying so so hard to force having a kid of my own as soon as possible.  And, after a hard final exam, here I am with my 4mo old, 2.5 year old and 4.5 year old nephews.  I can hold baby all day long if I like.  I’ve gone from a single life to being the add on to a 5-person family (plus 2 cats and a nanny) in a heartbeat.  The are dishwashers and full stoves and laundry machines and multiple cars and meals made for big families – all things that I don’t have in my little studio.

First impressions?  Gratitude that I get to have this time right now.  I am also surprised that I am kind of missing my fast-paced job.  The contrast between what happens at night in my sister’s life and my own are kind of crazy – I usually settle into writing some paper or this blog after dinner combined with a glass of wine or some exercise, and she has the whole dinner, bathtime, TV thing happening.  I’ve really come a long way since I last was here.

Did I mention that East Coast spring is beautiful?!!!

The reservoir

Let’s see how this goes.

About tidewater

thirty-something, mostly single, finding a path.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One to many

  1. reocochran says:

    This is such a warm and moving post! I cannot imagine what you have gone through, facing a possible childless life and yet, here you are embracing the positives! Being a great auntie is awesome and a gift to those little ones! The view is also beautiful. Life is sometimes strange, I have 3 children, lost 2 to miscarriages yet my 2 best friends in my whole life, one 30 yrs. long and one over 20 yrs. long, have not been able to have children, both second marriages to men who had kids they became wonderful step moms!

  2. tidewater says:

    You are so sweet. I know deep down that everything will work out. Thanks for your comment!

mahalo for your comment!

