wherefore art thou… Romeo?

A plan is just a list of things that might happen.

So where does the story go from here?

First off, my manifesto is not preventing me from continuing to date  boys.  While I do sort of feel like Rocky at the top of the stairs,  I’m settling into the actual hard work that it is going to take to make my plan happen.  And although I’m focused on finishing my degree, you can’t work every single day for 12 hours (and remain sane), as much as my advisors wish that were true.

I’m not all that interested in finding the “one” – but company would be nice.  It doesn’t need to be perfect.  I have my plan, am confident that I can execute my plan, and so there is really no pressure to herd cats (ahem… I mean ask men to commit to anything at all).

Alas! The irony! The man that just came into my life cannot have a superhero name.  His real name is Romeo, and I just can’t make up anything better than that.   I’m breaking my rules here, but oh well.   And I met him on OKCupid of all places!  

He is sweet, has a nerdy 8-year-old boy, is himself nerdy, and he likes to be outside.  And he is exactly my age.  I need to repeat that – no Over and Under.  Exactly my age.  He even lives on island.  As my best friend points out, he can even use chopsticks, which is the low bar we set for my dates for a while (unfortunately, some didn’t pass this test  🙂  ).

The complication:  ever since I’ve set my mind to my Manifesto, Mr. Faraway has been less faraway.  He does not know about the Manifesto.  I’m sure he simply senses happiness.  It remains confusing, but my heart is super tired of the emotional beating.  And when I offer him a ticket to visit me in NJ?  Nope.  Even though we communicate every day, blah – long distance is so complicated.

Having made some decisions on how to get the control back in *my* life, these dating games seem less important all of a sudden.

About tidewater

thirty-something, mostly single, finding a path.
This entry was posted in Dating, Life path, Long distance and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to wherefore art thou… Romeo?

  1. Pingback: Time passes.. things stay status quo | Uncharted Waters

mahalo for your comment!

