Douthat wants ‘More Babies Please’

I’ve been down in the ditches: Fighting a good fight to create a plan for my life that might actually be successful.  Mr. Douthat of the NYT has put out a call to arms for Americans to have more babies – but the commenters might as well have carried spiked poles to his house, they agree so little.:

There are forces in this country that contribute to declining birthrates. Women are working in droves, and they have to. Twelve weeks unpaid maternity leave? That’s a joke, right? As the main breadwinner in my relationship, I’m not laughing. I don’t work, we don’t eat. I’m lucky to have generous health insurance through my graduate assistantship, but if I don’t continue working, no health insurance. And that’s before I start thinking about how much having a child would derail my career in a way it wouldn’t for a man. If we want people to have children, we need to do a better job of taking care of them and families. And from where I sit, I think I’ll pass. Ira Zuckerman, S. Londonderry, VT

About tidewater

thirty-something, mostly single, finding a path.
This entry was posted in Career, Childless or childfree and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

mahalo for your comment!

