Household of one

I must be coming into some sort of new stage in this long-distance relationship with Mr. Faraway.  Everything is peaceful all of a sudden, and I’m not so anxious about where we are, or how we can be together, or if he loves me, or whatever else it is I’m doing when I think of him and transport myself off the island into some little dream world.

With the advent of a new suitor in my life, who has way-too-soon proclaimed his over the top affections for me, I am fascinated by how little time I have!  It turns out that I like to be alone, don’t want to be on the phone with him all the time, and really like going home by myself after a crazy day.  I work a *lot* more than I thought I did.  Maybe its that Mr. Viking and I have known each other for so little time, and it still requires some work to be together.  Maybe because I just am not ready to fall for anyone (even if it would be convenient – this is still plausible).  Maybe I didn’t feel this way at all with Mr. Faraway when we used to skype for hours a day.

But really, it seems that right now I’m single-ish (which really is the case if you are madly in love with someone 5000 miles away) because I kind of like it.  Will I always like it?

The internet seems to say no.  Quoting an old article from Marie Claire – I had no idea the stats on marriage were so low:

A recent Pew Research Center study found that barely half of American adults are married, a historic low. More striking: Only 20 percent of 18- to 29-year-olds are hitched.

Do married people like being around someone else all the time?  Do you just get used to it?  Or like my baby question from the other day, is it that when it’s right, it’s right?  Perhaps.

Maybe love is being able to be yourself, at home, all the time, when you’re together.

About tidewater

thirty-something, mostly single, finding a path.
This entry was posted in Dating, Relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

mahalo for your comment!

