Facebook quotes

Finally, friends with kids do something I can understand on Facebook that isn’t just posting baby pictures or talking about pre-school.  The first consciousness I’ve ever seen from my uber-smart colleagues/friends.
Sometimes I think having kids is the ultimate in procrastination. We don’t think we can achieve our goals in our lifetime, so we make kids who will survive us and continue working at it. Basically, putting it off until the next generation…
  • Anon: I think of it as a different kind of goal-avoidance: having kids is a life achievement that is more attainable than the goals you might otherwise have.
My doctorate is taking off this week in some actual direction, and I am swamped.  I would not be able to do this at all right now if I had a child.  I have not revealed this part of my career/dating/kids/marriage debate, because it is very complicated and makes my head spin.  I have always said that I would happily give up the degree in exchange for a child, but deep down I know I am still trying to do both.  I agree with the first friend above, that having children for me really is goal-avoidance.  If I can’t save the world, then I might as well make someone else who has a shot.
I was in a meeting yesterday and for whatever reason, grief just washed over me, and I started to cry.  I had to politely excuse myself for a bit.   This has to be the body talking, and not the intellect.
Okay, back to work.
About tidewater

thirty-something, mostly single, finding a path.
This entry was posted in Childless or childfree, Life path and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

mahalo for your comment!

