Opposite values are complementary

There are a lot of choices when you date.  I think it really is possible to get what you want, but you have to first know what you want.

Over Thai food this evening a friend made some great observations.  You see, I’m still in the middle of a Mr. Faraway (who is again a little closer, not so close) versus Mr. Mexican soccer player debate.   Mr. Faraway is unstable, emotional, passionate, an intellectual challenge and highly self-absorbed in everything but you – his work, his daughter.  He is financially a wreck at the moment, although he has a lot of potential.  He is faraway in lots of ways, and comes around like a comet every month or so.  It was a battle for him to call me his girlfriend (but not to tell me he loves me – emotional overtures are easy). He is electric in bed.

Mr. Mexican soccer player is stable and always smiling.  He is happy with life, if not a little depressed that he doesn’t have someone to snuggle up with.  He has a cozy apartment nearby.  At the end of the work day, he likes to relax.  He always responds to my texts, asks me how I am, and in general, is calm and content.  He has already said he just wants a nice stable girlfriend to hang out with every night and hug.  Granted, he is in his mid-40s with an 11-year-old son, so perhaps a new family is not what he is bargaining for.

And then there is me.  I closely approximate Mr. Faraway.  We are hot oil droplets in a wet pan.  It is always fiery.  This makes it incredibly emotionally intense and exciting – so exciting that I am willing to fly tens of thousands of miles from theoretical paradise just to put up with his craziness.  I like intense and exciting.  This is likely why I am not married.  When I do find the marrying kind they are boring to me!  I need to find a way to let myself like boring.

About tidewater

thirty-something, mostly single, finding a path.
This entry was posted in Relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

mahalo for your comment!

