Impossible dream

From an article on Helen Gurley Brown, the founder of Cosmo (thanks bitterbabe):

I lived my life according to Gurley Brown’s rules, focusing on my career and appearance above all else.

She omitted to tell me that if you spend all your time at work, you will never meet a man and that you will be too exhausted for sex.

I spent so much time trying to achieve, I forgot to be patient and nice and girly — which, frankly, is what most men want.

This encapsulates my feelings for the day.  Whether you are a bra-burning feminist or a lipstick feminist, the result feels like it might be the same.  The fact that at 32 I am just now figuring out that I need to be quiet, patient and girly to attract a man is a serious problem!

About tidewater

thirty-something, mostly single, finding a path.
This entry was posted in Life path. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Impossible dream

  1. Oh dear! Quiet, patient and girly! I have also focused the majority of the energy of my mid twenties until now to my education and career!

mahalo for your comment!

