Long long distance

Mr. Faraway lives so very far away sometimes that it really allows you to sit and wonder what a relationship is all about.  I spent the day in my lab, vaguely whining about being there on a Sunday, but also kind of entranced by the problem in front of me that I’m trying to solve.  In the middle of my coding and problem solving, I had yet another conversation with Mr. Faraway, this time by phone.

What started off as a simple catch-up quickly grew serious.  I think this is my least favorite part of a relationship – all the *work* you need to do to make sure you can assess the other’s mood, you can say what you need to say when you need to say it.

I would like to know some of the “how’s” of how we can eventually be together – which link very closely to the “which” question I am working with here on the island.  Which place should I work at?  For how long?  Should I be wrapping things up, saying goodbye to my favorite foods, abandoning my friends?  Or should I move on with my life and date again and look for someone so much less complicated.

I also wanted to know the “do you”… as in can you remind me that you feel the same?  This will take so much work to work out, what with our two lives spread 5000 miles apart.  And the choice between a husband and family and your career could not be more starkly laid out.

Instead of answers, I got indignation and resistance this time.  A man not ready to commit.  Really makes me second guess my decision to keep this going.  Make-up sex long-distance style ensued, and things are better, but I don’t want to forget how unpredictable and non-committed he can be.

About tidewater

thirty-something, mostly single, finding a path.
This entry was posted in Long distance, Relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Long long distance

  1. Pingback: Portrait of a Man: The Beekeeper | Uncharted Waters

mahalo for your comment!

